There is nothing magic about self-care

It feels so great writing a blog post again!

For the past few months, I’ve been juggling with exhaustion and discouragement. No matter how many ideas I have to make my life better, to care for myself, to love on myself, it seems nothing ever happens, nothing ever works. I tried to implement my morning and evening routines but they seem so overwhelming with their 14-15 different things to do.

I end up telling myself it’ll be easier when Summer comes and I can open the windows. But guess what? Summer did come last Monday. I did open the windows. But I felt exactly the same.

Yesterday, on my way to work, it finally dawned on me : Only I can change myself, only I can make it happen.

I need to stop waiting for something magical to happen.
I need to take decisions.
I need to be disciplined.
I need to follow through.
I need to be gracious and patient with myself.
I need to be encouraging with myself.
I need to surround myself with caring people.
I need to ask for and accept help.

save-new

Our Lady of Self-Love saint by The Diggingest Girl : a much needed reminder of what I need to do to make it happen.

And you know what?
I can do it, even though I know it won’t be easy. (This is my new mantra)
I can do it because I’m worth it.
I can do it because my family is worth it.
I can do it because I am not alone.
I can do it, one step at a time.

So, instead of having one or two goals each month, I’ll just break down my morning and evening routines into even smaller tasks. That way, it won’t seem so overwhelming.

How about  you? Do you struggle with the idea of magical change? How do you deal with change in your life?

 

One thought on “There is nothing magic about self-care

  1. renardgourmande says:

    Oh boy, does that sound familiar! I hear you sister!
    I know I am also waiting for something to happen. I guess my magic was and still is Tia, but I need to do my part.
    You are sooooo worth it! And you are already lovely, lovable and loving. I love you just the way you are.

Leave a Reply

