The end of an era | The beginning of another

I know! I know! I’m a little dramatic there with my title but this is how I feel right now.
Not about January ending and February starting, but about the end (or so I hope) of an era of finding it impossible to accomplish anything and the beginning of a new one where anything is possible.

As I reflect on all I’ve accomplished in January, I must say, I’m quite proud of myself.

I’m not one to usually stick to any kind of resolution or project in the long term. This is why my idea of having one or two goals/projects per month is a strike of genius for me!
Not only am I able to actually finish something, but 30 days is long enough to make a habit out of it if I want to.

JANUARY ACCOMPLISHMENTS 

1. Goal 1 | Shop free month : Overall, my first shop free month went very well but I feel like I need to keep on with it.
You see, I have a really hard time not buying Starbucks. This is why, on top of my new February goal, I will start a new shop free month keeping me from buying anything at Starbucks, or any other coffee shop. I want to change my mentality about using my money for such futile things. Going out at the restaurant or at a coffee shop with friends is great. It’s not money spent for nothing since I’m building my relationships. But buying coffee for myself when I can make it at home or at work is a waste of money.
2. Goal 2 : January Cure : I loved that challenge. It made me realize how far I’ve come in my minimalism, slow, simple living journey. It happened so many times that I had nothing to do for a particular task because it had already been done permanently or in my normal routine.
BONUS : I now have a list of projects to do during the year to make my home more functional and lovely. I will take them one at a time and would like for almost all of them to be done by the end of the year.
3. Less computer, more family time : I still need to limit my time online and on electronic devices. I had started a Wednesday media fast but soon forgot about it. It’s time to reinstate that and other media fast moments in my schedule. I’m even thinking of making a future monthly goal about doing the opposite, schedule my time online instead of my time offline. We’ll see about that.
4. Meal planning : I’ve been doing it for 4 weeks now and it has made my nights so much easier. I know what I’m cooking when I come back from work and I can easily interchange days since I already have every ingredients at hand.
Another bonus is that we now eat a wider diversity of food and our 2 year old Peanut is now developing her tastebuds better.
5. Blog : I’m also really proud of myself for keeping up with my blog. I didn’t write as much as I intended to but that’s ok. I don’t want my blog to become a burden but a place of peace and introspection for me. This is why I changed the name of my Saturday Quote to Live By category to Quote to Live By. I don’t want to HAVE to write something every Saturday. I want to write whenever I can and feel like it.

How about you? How was your month? What did you accomplish? What do you still want to work on?

img_3913

p.s. Watch out tomorrow for my February goals!

Leave a Reply

