The self-care struggle is real

The biggest struggle in my life right now is self-care.

save-new

Drawing that says it all, from one of my favourite artists, Cara Carmina

Being a working mom, I want to be able to do it all : play with the Peanut, keep a tidy home, feed my family well, spend time with the boyfriend and with family and friends, create, read, write, watch movies, and the list goes on.

Most nights, if I’m lucky, I get to play with the Peanut, cook dinner and wash some dishes or fold some clothes. 2 days a week, like tonight, I get some time, maybe an hour, to write my blog posts.
On the weekends, there are the dishes to wash, laundry to take care of, food to be cooked, a little Peanut to spend time with and family and friends to see. That does not leave a lot of time for me.

When you don’t have time at night, find the time in the morning

I’ve been reading a lot lately about the power of routines and realize I don’t have many I actually stick to.

I’d love to work from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m. and be home early but I usually start at 8 or 9.
I’d love for my mornings to be more relax. Instead, I wake up 30 minutes before I intend to leave for work, rush through my mornings and work later than I had planned.
I’d love to have some time to create and read each day but I don’t.
I’d love for my kitchen to be tidy and fun to cook in but it’s not.

During beak time at work today, I read about a course called “Make over your mornings”. It’s an online class about using the first few hours of your day to set the mood and intention for your day.

For one of my two February goals, I will take this class. I’ll order it on February 1st, after my shop free month, and get started on it right away.
My goal with this course will be to get up at 4:30 a.m. from Monday to Friday and at 6 a.m. on the Weekends. I also plan on going to bed earlier.

I can’t wait to see how it all goes! I’ll keep you guys posted on that! 🙂

How about you? Do you struggle with self-care? What do you do with your me time? Do you have routines that save your days?

One thought on “The self-care struggle is real

Leave a Reply

