2017 – The year of no resolutions

The New Year is almost here and resolutions are being made (and most probably will be broken) all around the world.
How many times have I written down a list of things I vowed to do or not do? Countless times. How many times have I seen things through? Never.

If you are anything like me, you are good at making plans but not so good at seeing them through. In the last few years, I’ve wanted, amongst other things, to :
– Lose weight
– Exercise more (or just exercise)
– Make more art
– Take care of myself
– Start a blog
– Go out more, etc.

In spite of that, I find myself weighing more than ever before, barely exercising (at least I love walking), almost never drawing, painting or bookbinding. I have a hard time making time for myself and I’m mentally and physically exhausted.

So this year, I decided to cross one thing from my past lists – I’m starting this blog. The idea had been floating around for years now but I was too scared that I wouldn’t know what to write about or that no one would read it to actually start.

Today, I’m starting this blog for me.
To encourage me when things get tough.
So that I can look back and see how far I’ve come.

If anything I write strikes a chord with anyone, YAY!!!! But this new adventure is, first and foremost, for me.

If any of you join in the fun, you can expect the following topics :
– Family (especially pictures of my Peanut)
– Art
– Simple living
– Minimalism
– Zero Waste
– Plastic-free
– Green living

Let the fun begin!

Marjo Bourge
img_5014
The Peanut, me and my goofy boyfriend Martin

8 thoughts on “2017 – The year of no resolutions

  1. Véronique says:

    Je suis vraiment heureuse pour ton blog et j’aime beaucoup ta plume! Je suis certaine que nous y allons y faire beaucoup de découvertes. Superbe le layout!

  2. renardgourmande says:

    Yay! I am so proud of you. I never make resolutions myself. I am more the kind of girl that makes “have done lists” than “to do lists”. I would rather look back with satisfaction on what I did in a day than with disappointment on what I thought I would do.
    You have been a constant joy in my life and I am looking forward to reading about you more.
    Love you my Kouki!
    Your big sister

  3. :: danielle :: says:

    Marjo, Thank you for introducing me to your blog! I am very excited to see what you post next, all of your interests align with mine. Are you in the Ottawa area, by any chance? xo, Danielle

    (ps – i have a blog post about not making resolutions…)

    • marjobourge says:

      I’ve been reading your blog for some time and I love it! Really inspirational! I’ll take the time tomorrow to read your post about resolutions! 🙂
      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment. I can’t wait to see what will come of my blog and how encouraging it will be for me and others.
      I’m not in Ottawa but not too far, I live in Montreal. 😉 xxx Marjo

Leave a Reply

